HomeIPL 2020Chennai Super Kings: Squad Analysis, Team Strength, Weakness, Threats & Records

Chennai Super Kings: Squad Analysis, Team Strength, Weakness, Threats & Records

Chennai Super Kings have won the IPL Title three times in 12 seasons.

Here we will discuss the Strength and Weaknesses of the team.

The 12th edition of the Indian Premier League is finally going to start from September 19, 2020 but this time the action will take place in the different cities of the UAE.

Chennai Super Kings have been the most consistent team so far in this exciting and furious tournament as they have won the title three times and ended up being the runner-ups for the five times.

This season too, The yellow army will be the big favourites to win the title considering their Squad which looks quite promising even after two big players Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh opted out from this season.

Performance of Chennai Super Kings In the IPL so far:

2008 – Runners-up
2009 – Playoffs
2010 – Champions
2011 – Champions
2012 – Runners-up
2013 – Runners-up
2014 – Playoffs
2015 – Runners-up
2016 – D/N
2017 – D/N
2018 – Champions
2019 – Runners-up

There will be total 6 categories in which we will analyse the squad of Chennai Super Kings and those are as follows –

CSK Full Squad:

MS Dhoni (c), Ravindra Jadeja, M Vijay, Josh Hazlewood, Kedar Jadhav, Karn Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Faf du Plessis, Shardul Thakur, Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Bravo, Lungi Ngidi, Sam Curran, Monu Kumar, Shane Watson, Sai Kishore, Narayan Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, KM Asif

Chennai Super Kings: Squad Analysis, Team Strength, Weakness, Threats & Records
CSK Schedule – (Picture Source – Twitter)


There are many pacers, spinners and batsmen in the squad of Chennai Super Kings who will be crucial at the different pitches of the UAE.

List Of Spinners:


Mitchell Santner – (M-4 W-4)

Ravindra Jadeja – (M-170 R-1927 W-108)

Imran Tahir – (M-55 W-79)

Karn Sharma – (M-63 W-54)

Piyush Chawla – (M-157 W-150)

These five spinners will play the crucial role for the CSK in this season as the pitches at UAE are expected to favour the spin as the matches passes by.

List Of Pacers:

Deepak Chahar – (M-34 W-33)

Sam Curran – (M-9 W-10)

Shardul Thakur – (M-36 W-36)

Josh Hazlewood – First Season

Lungi Ngidi – (M-7 W-11)

Dwayne Bravo – (M-134 R-1483 W-147)

These pacers will play a big role especially while bowling first in all the matches of this edition. Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood & Dwayne Bravo are in the top form with bowl so it will be interesting to see how they will perform at these slow pitches of the UAE.

List Of Batsmen:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni – (M-190 R-4432)

Murali Vijay – (M-103 R-2587)

Kedar Jadhav – (M-79 R-1079)

Ambati Rayudu – (M-147 R-3300)

The four Indian Batsmen will have to play a major part if CSK want to win the title again because they have the experience of playing spin bowling more than any other batsmen in the lineups.


Ruturaj Gaikwad – (M-28 R-843 in domestic T20) First IPL Season

Kedar Jadhav – (M-79 R-1079)

Ambati Rayudu – (M-147 R-3300)

Deepak Chahar – (M-34 W-33)

Shardul Thakur – (M-36 W-36)

Above listed 5 players have the opportunity to prove themselves in this season as it will benefit them in the upcoming years to get a fixed place in the Indian international Cricket Team.

Other Players to look out for:

Narayan Jagadeesan – TNPL Star (M-22 R-305)

Monu Kumar – (M-22 W-25) First IPL Season

KM Asif – (M-2 W-3)

Sai Kishore – (M-22 W-25) TNPL Star


Chennai had good record against all the opponent teams except Mumbai Indians as they have always struggled against them so Mumbai will be the biggest threat to the CSK and they have to find out some solution to overcome it.

📣Cricketfacts is now on Telegram.. Click here to Join Our Telegram channel @blogcricketfacts to get Fantasy Cricket Previews and Latest Cricket News

Join our Telegram channel to get Final Dream11 Teams and Cricket Insights

By Choice and not by Chance.. Exploring the world of Fantasy Cricket since 4+ Years..!🔥


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments