ICC launches World Cup Super League as a criteria to qualify for the Men’s 2023 WC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially launched the first ICC Cricket World Cup Super League on Monday 27 July 2020.

The World Champion England team will face Ireland in a three-match ODI series from 30 July 2020 at the Agus Bowl Stadium in Southampton and with this, the Cricket World Cup Super League will also begin, which will be the qualifier matches of the World Cup 2023.

One-day International (ODI) Super League, which was launched to bring cricket into context, will determine the qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, which will feature the top seven teams according to the ICC rankings, while the Indian team as hosts Will get a chance to directly qualify for the event.

Apart from a host team (India) with 7 top teams, two other teams will also play these World Cups through qualifiers.

13 teams, including 12 ICC full members, while the Netherlands team that has qualified by winning the ICC World Cricket Super League 2015-17.

Under the Super League, these teams have to play four 3-3 matches series at home and four 3-3 matches series with the overseas by 2023.

Based on that ranking, these teams will get a chance to qualify for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

ICC General Manager Geoff Allardyce has said,

“We are delighted to host the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League against Ireland with World Cup winners England. This league will be a one-day affair for ODI cricket in the next 3 years. Will bring relevance and context, as qualification is at stake for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The Super League will attract cricket fans from all over the world, as league cricket is quite exciting. “


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Hot Topics

Related Articles